Its Here! Losing my Inhibitions! First full length hetero from Rebel Ink

I know you’re just as excited about this as I am. My first of several hetero pieces from Rebel Ink. The characters have decided we’d try a series of shorts with them and other characters so look for that in the coming months!

All Romance

Amazon

Bookstrand

B&N

Officer Vanessa Daniels is fast approaching her 35th birthday which also happens to be on Valentine’s day. She seeks a specific kind of man to be her lover and likes being the one in the driver’s seat.

Jayson Freed is a bartender by day and a writer by night. He’s looking to find the right woman to help fulfill some of his inner most fantasies. The two meet on an internet dating site and immediately start talking. Will the connection work? Will Jayson turn out to be just what this hard nose girl needs?

Here is a small excerpt from the book!

Being a female cop you learn to accept different things. Number one, people think just because your female you’re not as strong as a man. Two, its assumed you might be lesbian, which I really am not, and three, you might’ve taken the position to prove to someone or yourself you could do the job.

The latter would be me to a tee since I wanted to show my dear old mom how going to law school wasn’t as fun as running down the street and catching criminals. Mrs. Daniels seethed when I told her that I dropped the books for a badge. She wanted me to follow in her footsteps and I reminded her each and every time how this is my life not hers. Of course she hated that because she could control my younger sister and not me. We Daniels women have always been that way.

Maybe that’s why all of us were alone. My dad left us when before I turned ten and my hot shot lawyer mom has only casually dated ever since, claiming not to want a long term relationship because every man has a problem with her status. By the looks of it, I’m headed down the same path. I’ve never had a long term relationship and since my biological clock is ticking, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my future. Why we women have these issues more than men I don’t know but because thirty five is fast approaching, I’m concerned about being alone for the rest of my life. It hadn’t really bothered me till now but my birthday is right around the corner, ironically on Valentine’s Day.

Ain’t that bitch?

Yes, me, Chicago cop, Vanessa Daniels came into this world on V day. You’d think being born on the day of love I would’ve easily found someone and been blessed with a fabulously gorgeous man, but I wasn’t. Part of it could be I’ve never really taken being in a relationship seriously since I’ve tried to keep myself from being hurt. The other reason, I like to be in control and not too many men want to be someone’s bitch. Could I possibly give up a little to start dating someone regularly? I’d have to if I didn’t want to spend the rest of my life with my cat Jase whose outlasted all the men I even tried to bring into my life over the past five years. He’s been faithful but even he’s getting tired of me only spending my nights at home with him.

So am I for that matter. I need to find this man out there somewhere. Friends tell me to start going out to clubs with them again which I just can’t do. In my opinion, women after thirty shouldn’t be going to bars to meet men. Perhaps it should be the date after you meet him at the library or a sporting event.

I’ve even subscribed to an online dating service which a lot of them don’t think is real safe but I remind them, I can find out all about him just by looking him up at work. If he’s shady, I’ll know it immediately. One of the reasons being on LoveMatch.com remained an easy decision. I’ve been on the site for about three months now and have met a couple of nice looking guys however none of them have done it for me. The one I’d want would have to make my heart throb or my toes curl. I hadn’t come across him yet. Hopefully it wouldn’t be too long.

“Another day, another few bucks.” Tired from the day’s events, I closed my door to my South Michigan Avenue apartment and removed my jacket. I hung it up in the closet and set my keys on the small table by the door. As I toed my shoes off, my aforementioned feline ran up to me, running his slender body against my legs. “Hey Jase.”

“Meow.”

The grey cat with green eyes purred and I kneeled down to greet him with the usual nuzzle of noises. With him in my arms, I strolled towards my kitchen to attempt to find both of us some grub. Living alone did have its perks. I only had to feed Jase and me but if I had somebody, maybe they could cook. A man good in the kitchen and out of it! Let me add that to the already long list of wants and…

“Someone who likes to clean.” Glancing at the sink full of dirty dishes, I winced and pinched the bridge of my nose when I inhaled the stench. Crazy, that I own a dishwasher and don’t like to load it. What the hell?  Okay so cleanliness isn’t one of my strong points. I’m far from a slob but not a neat freak either.

Once I located Jase’s food, I placed his bowl on the counter and dumped the can of his favorite delicacy for him to eat. When I notice my lovable feline was satisfied with his meal, I looked in my stainless steel fridge which at the moment only had last week’s leftover pasta, a loaf of bread, oh make that just two ends and milk that might’ve spoiled a couple of days ago.

Adding to the mental list: A man who likes to go grocery shopping.

Leave a Reply

