Monday Mornin’ Read

 

 

More from Bobby and Cade! I’m loving these two!

“Ugh…” Cade’s body screamed in protest when he tried to turn over. Every bone and muscle made him wish he hadn’t drank a thing. “At least my head doesn’t hurt!” Cade cursed himself for getting so wasted. “I might never drink alcohol again!”

Still grimacing, he sat upright and glanced around the room. For a second, he forgot he was in Bobby’s apartment and when it came back to him, he smiled lightly knowing the man of his dreams had taken care of him. Yeah, he was embarrassed but what could he do now? At least it wasn’t someone he didn’t care for or worse, he could’ve ended up going home alone.

Thank goodness for Bobby!

Cade reached over and grabbed the glass of water. The minute it hit his throat, he sighed in contentment over the taste. Nothin’ like water after drinking booze all night. The next thing he needed was coffee and perhaps a small meal to coat his stomach. Just then, his belly grumbled and jumped when he mentioned food. Okay Maybe not.

“Cade?”

Bobby’s voice woke him out of his reverie. After finishing his beverage, he sat up and smoothed his hair on his head, hoping he looked somewhat presentable. “Yeah Bobby, I’m in here.”

Slowly the door creaked and Bobby peeked his head in. “You good, babe?”

“Um, yeah, as good as I’ll ever be. Thanks again for bringin’ a drunk bastard home and takin’ care of him.”

“Ah no prob, Cade. Anything for a friend, especially you.”

That last portion of Bobby’s sentence perked Cade’s ears. Me? After all these years the two of them had known one another and never knew of the attraction. Cade knew his excuse, too much of a chicken shit to say a word. “Thanks Bobby. I dunno how I’ll ever repay you.” Cade gazed into those sea blue eyes, loving the way they matched his shirt and well fitted jeans. Damn he wanted to strip Bobby down and see that hot body underneath all the clothing.

“You owe me nothin’, hun. I was doin’ my duty.” Bobby sat down at Cade’s side and lightly traced the side of his face. “Been wantin’ to be this close to you for years, Cade. Never had enough gumption to tell ya’ either.”

Cade chuckled nervously. “You weren’t the only…wait…” He stopped to think for a second. Bobby Leslie gay? He’d never made any indication about his attraction to men. Was he telling him all this time, he actually was? “You…”

“Yeah Cade, I am and have been ever since I was a teenager. I just couldn’t come out and tell anyone. I know now I should’ve and told everyone else to go fuck themselves!” The anger showed in Bobby’s voice.

“I know what you mean.” Yeah, Cade did. If ol’ man Spencer found out he was sleeping with guys, he’d have a heart attack. He shuddered at the thought and looked back at Bobby. “We both got meddling family members.”

“Had, Cade. At least in my case. Good ol’ dad is gone. Got to see his boy play football. That’s all he ever cared about too.” Bobby kicked off his shoes and lay in bed next to Cade and faced him. “Momma can’t fathom it. Says I just ain’t met the right girl yet. Somethin’ should tell her by nah, I haven’t wanted to meet the right girl.”

“I hear ya.” Yeah Cade knew that all too well. His parents had been bugging the hell out of him to get hitched to any nice girl and have grandkids. He’d avoided it for so long. It was time to fess up and tell them his preference. “So you told your mom and…”

“And she doesn’t wanna believe it. I’m sure if I was younger she might want the pastor to send me off to one of them bible camps er somethin’ so they could beat the gay outta me,” he laughed. “Shame that folks can’t understand being gay is only their stupid label. I’m a man, I’m human and I’m attracted to men more than women. So the fuck what?”

“Yeah!” Cade nodded in agreement and continued to stare at the man longingly. God he wanted to ravage Bobby Leslie right now and make up for lost time. “Damn, Bobby. I wish I had your courage to tell my folks but I just can’t man.”

“Yes you can, Cade Spencer and you will, you know why?” Bobby scooted closer to Cade and cupped his chin.

Cade gulped hard and slinked away, recalling he hadn’t showered or brushed his teeth. “Why?”

“Cause’ I’m right here to hold your hand through it. We’ve lost too much time livin’ for otha’ folks, Cade. Right bout nah, we need to live for each other.”

More to come on Wednesday at Michael’s for the Wednesday Briefs

Leave a Reply

